Monday, September 5, 2011

12 Marks of a New Monasticism

In this book, Rutba House (in Durham, NC) and friends have outlined 12 marks, or characteristics, that help to define New Monasticism. These 12 marks are broad characteristics that tend to surface in projects like Mulberry House. I find them to be helpful for many reasons.

In the coming weeks, I plan to highlight each of these 12 marks, briefly explain them, and explore their significance in relation to the Mulberry House (longtime readers will remember when I attempted this once before, only to leave it unfinished. Better late than never!).

The 12 Marks are:
1) Relocation to the abandoned places of Empire.

2) Sharing economic resources with fellow community members and the needy among us.

3) Hospitality to the stranger

4) Lament for racial divisions within the church and our communities
combined with the active pursuit of a just reconciliation.

5) Humble submission to Christ’s body, the church.

6) Intentional formation in the way of Christ and the rule of the
community along the lines of the old novitiate.

7) Nurturing common life among members of intentional community.

8) Support for celibate singles alongside monogamous married couples and their children.

9) Geographical proximity to community members who share a common rule of life.

10) Care for the plot of God’s earth given to us along with support of our local economies.

11) Peacemaking in the midst of violence and conflict resolution within communities along the lines of Matthew 18.

12) Commitment to a disciplined contemplative life.

No comments: